Guardian

It’s presence was haunting.

That shimmer of silver

always lingering out of full sight

licking the tearstains from worn carpets

and chilling my warm hand.

.

It slept in the shadows

a figurine to the curious sunlight

but when darkness rose those eyes alit

and above my sleeping frame it would hover

watching as innocence took over my weary face.

.

It’s smell lingered long after it was gone

like a subtle rosy hue

to color the air

and tickle my lungs.

.

So cruel of it to leave me

with only the tiniest hint it was ever there

a remainder burnt deep into the pulsing scar

that it once healed with icy touch.

.

It wasn’t until I realized who it was

that the poison began to call.

For the chance was stolen by my obliviousness

and now she was lost forever

the only one who’d cared –

and now I was determined

to be lost with her.

Leave a Reply

