Set Free

You’ll never get away.

.

He claimed that once

with violet lips brushing against

my cold knuckles.

.

We’re connected now.

.

His whispers slipped through frosty air

and bit past flesh

till crimson bled into his palm.

.

Accept what has happened.

.

My chin thrust back

bare neck exposed in agony

but the trembles that ran through me

were not birthed from him.

.

Giving up?

.

A shuddered breath

the warmth began to leave.

I saw the icicles on my eyelashes

and smiled at the dancing light.

.

You can’t go, you’re mine forever.

.

The voice faded

a backdrop to my new wonderland.

The spots of maroon on the snow began to grow.

A pretty pattern – and the last I’d see.

3 thoughts on “Set Free

Leave a Reply

